FineChina

A fine chinese girl and her wild adventures in scouring fine foods in the city.

Viet-Nam Bahn Mi So

Posted by finechina on March 31, 2007

A Vietnamese sandwich is just a a Vietnamese sandwich? Wrong. With so many shops that devote themselves to the art of making this unique sandwich, each and every shop varies with their style and technique. But what makes them so special? Their style, technique, and love for this piece of bread. Haha.

Try the Viet sandwich at a Chinese bakery, like Century Cafe, and you’ll see how different tastes compared to your more authentic Viet sandwiches. When you get an authentic Viet sandwich from a Viet deli, you can’t imagine how rich some of their flavors are. I can’t even describe. Of course I can’t cover all of the shops, but I have a few that I like to start off first.

My battlefield is Chinatown, Manhattan. The so-called renowned ones are, Banh Mi Saigon Bakery and Viet-Nam Banh Mi So. Of course there are others, but I’ll just concentrate on these two first. I’m also going to visit Paris Sandwich and see how they go neck to neck with these two.

First stop:
Viet-Nam Bahn Mi So Corp (Vietnamese Deli)
369 Broome St
(at Mott St)
New York, NY
(212) 219-8341

I grew up eating the sandwiches here and it never disappoints. The only thing I regret is ordering the same sandwich, #1 [on menu], the pork Viet sandwich for over 5 years. My friends tell me that they make this kick ass meatball sandwich, which I swear I will try. I never had the courage to try other things on the menu, but I will soon. The people in there are nice and friendly who can speak in Cantonese, Vietnamese, and English. The place is a little small, but who cares right? It’s the food that counts? Of course that means it’s a take-out place, so don’t expect to be sitting around.

The woman who works there is still the same woman that I knew as a child and she’s always nice to give me some extra meat, which I can’t get enough of! Of course she’ll ask if you want it hot or not, and I prefer mines not because I think hotness kills the flavor, which isn’t what I’m looking for.

What’s different about their sandwiches is that there are more flavor and color in their sandwiches. I believe there’s a taste of garlic and butter in it, but I can’t be sure.

After bringing this baby back home in Brooklyn, the sandwich still remains warm and the aroma is strong. Yumm. Inside of course you see Viet salami, Viet turkey (I don’t know, I think so?), thinly sliced carrots, turnips, and cucumbers, and a leaf of cilantro. Yum yum. Don’t worry, it’s already toasted and it’s the only way you can eat it. The meat is so succulent and moist and the deli’s secret yellow sauce makes it that much more delicious. It’s not too salty, but it’s definitely a satisfying sandwich. I would give this sandwich a 5/5!

Rating: 5/5

NYC Dept Of Health Inspection Results:

VIETNAMESE DELI
369 BROOME STREET, MANHATTAN 10013
212-219-8341

Current violation points: 2 - PASSED

Inspection Date: 04/18/2006

No violations that present a threat to the public health or relate directly to factors which lead to foodborne illness were recorded at the time of this inspection.

1.) Plumbing not properly installed or maintained; anti-siphonage or backflow prevention device not provided where required; equipment or floor not properly drained; sewage disposal system in disrepair or not functioning properly.

Wait for my next few posts on Banh Mi on Mott, Paris Sandwich, and Sau Voi Corp!

One Response to “Viet-Nam Bahn Mi So”

  1. [...] too. I honestly didn’t know if Paris could compete with Banh Mi which is a block away and Viet-Banh-Mi on Broome St because they are excellent. The only way to find out is to go in and [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

